There are three ways to legally end a marriage or domestic partnership in California – divorce, legal separation, and annulment.
California is a “no fault” state, meaning that you do not have to prove that your partner has done anything wrong in order to get a divorce. This also means that neither spouse is “punished” because the end of the marriage was his or her fault.
Under California law, the earliest a divorce can be granted is 6 months and 1 day after the date the Petition is served. However, divorce does not automatically happen. A Judgment is needed in order to make the divorce final.
Your family has a unique dynamic, and there are many avenues that you can take to accommodate your family’s needs. You and your spouse may choose to end things amicably and want to avoid a courtroom – Cooper Hughes can assist you with an uncontested divorce. You and your spouse may have disagreements in various areas of your case – Cooper Hughes can assist you in negotiating and, if necessary, litigating your case.